Link Building 101: How to Evaluate the Power of Directories

PageRank

PageRank (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Link Building 101: How to Evaluate the Power of Directories

 

It’s extremely important to be able to evaluate the power of a
directory for link building. Especially when you consider that the
power of a directory listing is much more complicated than just looking
at the PR of the directory homepage.

 

Hence, the goal of this post is to train the average SEO enthusiast
how to quickly and effectively evaluate the power of general directories
through link analysis and evaluation. The post is going to focus on the
power of general directories because they are much more prevalent than
niche directories; which obviously are powerful if your in the same
niche. At the end of the day, there are hundreds of directories (both
paid and free) that you can submit too, so you need to know how to
quickly evaluate the power of these directories in order to make the
most out of your time and money. Efficiency is key!

 

Without much further ado, here’s a list of the 7 most important
criteria to look for when evaluating the power of general directories:

 

1.) Check the PR of the directory:

Although PR isn’t everything; this
is hands-down the fastest and easiest way to judge the power of any
directory. As a general rule of thumb, any directory at PR 5 or above
has good authority, while anything below a PR 3 has low authority.

 

2.) Check whether domain ranks in Google:

This important test
identifies if the directory has been penalized by Google. Simply go to
Google and type in the directory domain name (without spaces); they
should appear #1 unless the domain is targeting highly competitive
keywords (should still be on first page). If they don’t appear at all
and Google suggests a different search term, then they have been
penalized by Google.

 

3.) Indexability and last time cached:

This quick check-up is to
determine how often the Google bots are indexing the sub-page’s content.
Just go to Google, and enter a cache query. For a directory sub-page, a
good cache date would be within 1-2 weeks, but no longer than 1 month. A
higher frequency of cache dates indicate that the site is more powerful
and authoritative.

 

4.) Number (and quality) of inbound links:

Is a fairly simple measure
of the overall power and authority associated with the directory. The
higher the better. Being listed in DMOZ wouldn’t hurt either 🙂

 

5.) Number of outbound links and PR of sub-pages:

When choosing a
category to submit too, relevancy is the most important factor to
consider. But oftentimes, a submission could go in several categories.
In these cases, in order to choose the best sub-page or category to
submit too, you need to look at the sub-page’s PR and also the number of
outbound links. One of the most telling signs of an authority directory
is if they have PR sub-pages, because Google loves to take the second
level PR away from directories.

 

So, if you find a directory sub-page of PR 3 or higher: the directory
is carrying a good amount of power, authority and Google credibility.
The second point to consider is the number of outbound links on the
sub-page. In many cases there will be so many listings that you won’t
even get on the first sub-page of your selected category. You need to
keep this in mind when deciding which category to submit too. You want
to submit to the sub-page that has a low number of outbound links to
ensure that your link gets the most link juice available.

 

6.) Does the directory have sitewide links in Google?:

When you
search for the directory’s domain name do they have sitewide links under
their listing? If yes, this signifies that the directory has high
authority in Google’s eyes.

 

7.) Check appearances at public events and industry conventions:

The
theory behind this test is simple; if the directory owners can afford to
advertise in key industry events (SES and SMX for example) then they
obviously have a long-term strategy and are an authority. Obviously this
rule isn’t set in stone, but being at these events is a pretty clear
indication of a powerful directory.

 

There’s also one more test, but it takes more time as it’s a bit more
advanced because it can be time intensive. The anchor text test is a
great way to determine the power of a directory by measuring the link
juice that the directory passes on to your anchor text. Here’s how to
execute the anchor text text:

 

– First you need to find a unique anchor text within a sub-category (that isn’t mentioned on the site’s homepage)

– Next, check to see how that site ranks for that specific keyword(s) in the SERP‘s

 

This test doesn’t take into consideration the other link building
efforts of the client, but it is an effective way to attempt to measure
the link juice being sent from the directory to your site (or client’s
site). The hardest part is finding the unique anchor text, because most
of these anchors would most likely be targeting their site’s competitive
keywords, which would be mentioned on the homepage. But this isn’t
always the case, hence why the anchor text test can be very useful when
you are trying to gauge the power of a link within a directory.

 

Another thing to keep in mind with the power of directory submissions
is the featured listing or premiere listing option that enables your
listing to be placed at the top of your desired sub-category for some
extra dough. Is it worth it? Personally, I don’t see much value in these
type of listings unless the sub-page has PR and a lot of outbound
links. In this case, a regular submission wouldn’t get you on the first
page of the category, so it would be worth paying an extra $20 or so
because without it, your link won’t be getting the same “juice” as it
would be if placed on that desired subpage with PR.

 

Remember to keep this quick checklist in mind when considering which
directories to submit too, and also be sure to check out the last part
of this series which will cover potential downfalls and other mistakes
to avoid when making directory submissions.

58 thoughts on “Link Building 101: How to Evaluate the Power of Directories

  1. Pingback: Homepage

  2. Pingback: Discounts for Small Businesses in Business Directories

  3. You can certainly see your enthusiasm within the article you write.
    The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you
    who are not afraid to mention how they believe. All the
    time go after your heart.

    • Ah, my dear it is not for you to like the colour of my blog, it is the content of my blog that is important. You are the only one that dont like the colour. We all have diferent taste in colour. But that is ok, please visit my blog again, and your input is very important and welcome

  4. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going
    to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something completely unique. P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to
    ask!

  5. Hi; Neat post.. There is a problem with your site in internet explorer; would check this… IE still is the market leader and a huge portion of people will miss your excellent writing because of this problem. Roofing of Fort Worth, 8100 Wallace Road, Fort Worth, TX, 76135, US, 817-330-8100

  6. of course like your web site however you need to test the spelling on quite a few of your posts.

    A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding
    it very bothersome to tell the reality however I will surely come again again.

  7. It’s a pity you don’t have а donate button! I’d certainly donate to this brilliant blog!

    I suppose for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to fresh սpdates and will talk about this site with my Facebook ɡroup.
    Talk soon!

    • Hallo, I will see about putting a donate button. Thank you for the compliment, being prepared to donate to my work is very gratifying. I appreciate your kindness. Elizabeth Hattingh

  8. I want to use the WayBackMachine to try to retrieve my old Yahoo! 360 Blog posts, but I don’t know what the URL format was. So far I am coming up empty. Anybody have an example URL that I can use to reconstruct a valid URL for my old blog? Thanks!.

  9. Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. Seo Plugin

  10. hello!,I love your writing so so much! proportion we
    keep up a correspondence extra about your article on AOL?
    I require an expert in this house to unravel my problem.
    May be that is you! Taking a look ahead to look you.

  11. Hello, i feel that i noticed you visited my
    weblog so i got here to return the want?.I am attempting to
    to find issues to improve my site!I assume its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

  12. This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to keep
    a reader amused. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my
    own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really
    enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!

  13. I’m not positive the plaxe you’re getting your information, however giod topic.

    I needs tto spend a while finding out much more or working out more.

    Thank you for excellent information I was in search of this information for my mission.

  14. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other
    websites? I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my readers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e-mail.

    • Hallo
      I do write e books but do not have the time for the next few month as I start a new job and have to get used to a new schedule. How ever you may link back to my site when ever you need to. You can even send your site link to my email and I will put in a backlink to your site. Kind regards.

  15. Pretty nice ρost. I jսst stᥙmbled upon your weblog
    and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed sսrfing arօund your
    blog posts. Аfter аll I’ll be subѕcribing to your feed
    and I hope you write again very soon!

  16. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both educative and interesting,
    and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something not enough folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I came across this during my search for
    something relating to this.

Leave a Reply

